top of page
  • Writer's pictureKirdaar

Comfort Might Not Come From Fitting In

Sam From Atypical



I didn’t have this show on my list and it wasn’t something that I knew I’d watch. Mostly because I didn’t read about it. I’ll call this meant to be, because of the fact that I ended up loving it, without actually being ready for it! Yes, I fall in love with shows, we all do. In my case, I watch them again and again, Atypical falls under that list.


So, this is for the show. Atypical is about a teenager, Sam who has Autism Spectrum Disorder. Other than the fact that he’s an amazing artist and a scholar, he also has a vast knowledge about Penguins and Antarctica, the non-bookish kind. But, I also feel the need to talk about the people that he’s surrounded with. There are friends and family, but the amount of warmth that you’ll feel just watching them, is a lot. Of course, there are ups and downs, good and bad, but this is for the good.



The show has a lot of sensitive and important topics that are talked about, but in a way that it won’t be too much to take in. Instead, make you feel better or more informed. When we see the family, we know that it’s imperfect, but there’s still love and understanding, the kind that is needed to stick together. And how can we not talk about Zahid and Paige? They’re just as messed up as a teenager would be, but they are pure and real. Sam and Paige or Sam and Zahid is what honesty feels like, maybe?


Atypical is about a set of people who coexist and do not care to know about what would happen, if they don’t. With all of the things that matter, there’s Evan who shows us what a good human feels like. And there’s the fact that a therapist is as human as any of us. Oh and there’s no way I’m missing out on Casey, who’s just amazing!


I just realized that I cannot put together everything that I feel. So here, I stop.

For all I know, Sam is the glue that holds all these relationships together. And when they’d fall, he’d be there to pick them up. Just like they’d be there for him too.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page